The 2015 African youth under-20 champions will be seeded against Brazil in the 2015 FIFA Under-20 World Cup later this year after the African tournament wraps up.

The tournament will take place in Senegal, splitting venues between the cities of Dakar and M’Bour. It will kick of on 8 March with the final taking place on the 22nd. All four semi-finalists will qualify for the Under-20 World Cup.


Eight countries have qualified for the tournament and have been split into two groups. Group A consists of: Senegal, Nigeria, Congo and Ivory Coast. Group B is made up of: Ghana, South Africa, Mali and Zambia.

As previously mentioned, the semi-finalists will go on to the World Cup which will take place in New Zealand from 30 May to 20 June this year. The African champions will be in Brazil’s group, which also houses North Korea and Hungary. The draw for the global competition took place in Auckland, New Zealand on Tuesday, and 24 teams are set to aim for the world champion title.


The group draw for the 2015 Under-20 World Cup is as follows:

Group A: New Zealand, Ukraine, United States, Myanmar.
Group B: Argentina, Panama, Africa’s third-placed team, Australia.
Group C: Qatar, Colombia, Portugal, Africa’s fourth-placed team
Group D: Mexico, Africa’s second-placed team, Uruguay, Serbia.
Group E: African champion, Brazil, North Korea, Hungary.
Group F: Germany, Fiji, Uzbekistan, Honduras.